News and Announcements

88 inducted to National Technical Honor Society

Dec 22 2020
National Technical Honor Society LogoAlthough the pandemic kept Southwestern Community College from holding an in-person ceremony this fall, SCC officials welcomed 88 new members into the college’s chapter of the National Technical Honor Society with an induction video.

SCC President Dr. Don Tomas joined Dr. Thom Brooks, Executive Vice President for Instruction & Student Services, and Mathematics Instructor Vicki Todd to produce a virtual ceremony for the most-recent inductees.

NTHS members hold at least a 3.5 Grade Point Average. They were nominated by a teaching faculty members and rank among the top 20 percent of active students in their respective programs.

“We would love to have welcomed all these students into our Burrell Conference Center to celebrate their achievements, because they deserve to hear the applause of family and friends,” Dr. Brooks said. “Just because we weren’t able to do that doesn’t lessen their accomplishments. We are extremely proud of every single one of these inductees, and we look forward to seeing what each of them accomplishes in the years ahead.”

NTHS recognizes outstanding student achievement in career and technical education. It encourages higher scholastic achievement, cultivates a desire for personal excellence and helps students find success in the workplace.

Southwestern serves Jackson, Macon, Swain Counties and the Qualla Boundary. For more information about the programs it offers, visit, call 828.339.4000 or stop by your nearest SCC location.

Ana Rivera Diaz, Respiratory Therapy; and Joseph Brown, Associate in Arts.
Candler: Julie Toney, Paralegal Technology.

Karly Kremer, Occupational Therapy Assistant.
Marble: Jessica Blair, Medical Assisting.

Hassan Tillman, Information Technology/ Support Services.

Brennan Waitt, Information Technology - Software & Web Development; Catherine Carver, Occupational Therapy Assistant; and Jacob Medford, Mechatronics Engineering Technology.
Clyde: Trevor Cole, Associate in Science.

Maggie Valley: Tammy Kim, Occupational Therapy Assistant.
Waynesville: Alexandria Israel, Occupational Therapy Assistant; and Sandra Ledding, Nursing Associate Degree.

Flat Rock:
Philip Green, Cyber Crime Technology.
Hendersonville: Jake Pascua, Occupational Therapy Assistant.

Romulo Ancheta, Cyber Crime Technologies.

Bailee Collins, Associate in Arts; and Dagmar West, Accounting & Finance.
Cherokee: Ashley Bradley, Medical Assistant.
Cullowhee: Ellie Padgett, Associate in Science; Katie McMillan, Paralegal Technology; Madeline Metz, Associate in Arts; Matthew Ferris, Human Services & Substance Abuse Counseling; Zebulon Sink, Associate in Science; and Mason Felton, Fine and Visual Arts.
Sylva: April Burns, Business Administration; Chelsea Brothers, Business Administration-Entrepreneurship; Destiny Moody, Associate In Arts; Eric Cox, Associate in Arts; Grace Luopa, Associate in Arts; Kassidy Holland, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Katelynn Thomas, Business Administration AAS; Kelsey Hill, Medical Sonography; Kenneth Fischer, Information Technology – Software & Web Development; Mackenzie Hicks, Associate in Arts – Pathway; MacKenzie White, Human Services & Substance Abuse Treatment; Madison Polyasko, Accounting; Melody Mull, Business Administration; Patricia Buchanan, Nursing Associate Degree; Rebecca Rodriguez, Cybercrime; Sam Ogburn, Associate in Arts; Seraphim Cass, Associate in Arts; Shayla Buchanan, Nursing Associate Degree – RIBN; Tessa Omer, Associate in Arts; and Wendy Cool, Accounting and Finance.
Tuckasegee: Alyssa Rowe, Associate in Arts.
Whittier: Abigail Jones, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Deven Silvers, ESL Education; Isaac Bowers, Advertising & Graphic Design; Isaac Quillen, Biology; Jessica Buchanan, Early Childhood Education; Justina Bentivogli, Radiology; and Richard George, Associate in Arts.

Analee Webb, Associate Degree; Anandy Spalding, Nursing; Aubrey Hopkins, Philosophy; Audrea Shields-Burch, Business Administration; Carly Loftin, Associate in Arts; Christina Duke, Information Technologies – Software and Web Development; Ethan Timan, Associate in Arts; Grace Cowher, Associate in Arts; Jamie Loewy, Associate in Science; Jande Clayton, Business Administration/Office Administration; Karena Mason, Health Information Technology; Kevin Sanchez-Ramirez, Associate in Arts; Lourdes Vasquez, Cosmetology; Makayla Shuler, Associate in Arts; Melissa Ammons, Nurse Aide; Miriam Rios-Ortiz, AA- Associate in Arts; Ricardo Navarro, Associate in Arts; and Sara Ricotta, Associate in Science.
Scaly Mountain: Katie McCall, Associate in Arts.

Christopher Ward, Cyber Crime Technology.

Bryson City:
Adam Fox, Information Technology - Software & Web Development; Brooklyn Curtice, Human Services/ Substance Abuse; Christopher McMillan, Accounting & Finance; Crystal Jenkins, Business Administration; Crystal Smith, Medical Assisting; Eva Vaarum, Respiratory Therapy; Katharyn Green, Medical Office Administration; and Nicole Parton, Business Administration.
Cherokee: Brandi Taylor, IT - Network Management; Crystal Tortalita, Human Services Technology; Ginger Owle, Business Administration; Jennifer Sigmon, Associate Degree Nursing; and Michael Lambert, Information Technology - Software & Web Development.
Whittier: Melody Bowers, Cyber Crime Technology.

Savannah McKinney, Medical Laboratory Technology,