Southwestern Community College Faculty Senate Minutes of the Meeting August 11, 2004

The first Faculty Senate meeting of academic year 2004-2005 was called to order by President Chris Cox at 2:00 on August 11, 2004. Attendees were welcomed and encouraged to participate in senate activities.

Senators for the divisions were announced as follows:

<u>Health Sciences</u>	<u>Arts and Sciences</u>	Career Technologies
Sarah Altman	Allan Grant	Kurt Berger
Dale Hall	Bob Satterwhite	Connie Gregory
Paul Wolf	Duanne Wesolik	Wilda Walker
Lori Yerse		Doug Ward

Officers this year are Chris Cox, President; Ron Poor, Vice President; and Linda Talbott, Secretary.

The following items were discussed.

1. <u>Excellence in Teaching</u>:

Many community colleges across the state participate in activities to annually name one person "Teacher of the Year," and the winners go on to compete at the state level. In the past several years, SCC has not participated. Would the faculty like to participate in such a competition? After discussion, a committee was formed to outline criteria and procedures should members of the faculty decide they would like to compete. President Cox requested feedback from the committee by September 10, 2004. Members of the subcommittee are: Sarah Altman, Kurt Berger, Dale Hall, and Meg Rollins.

2. Amendment to the Constitution.

Numbers of faculty senators from each division has changed since Arts & Sciences merged with Developmental Education and it was noted that this change is not reflected in the Faculty Senate Constitution as it appears on SCC's Webpage. Chris will contact Sandra Bunn to ask her to update the Webpage.

3. Representative Senate versus One Faculty-One Vote

The question of whether to continue the current system of faculty representatives or return to the former system of one person-one vote was introduced by Ron Poor. A motion was made by Dale Hall and seconded by Ellen Heim to ask Senators to poll their constituents and report at the next meeting. The motion carried.

4. Faculty Representation on Committees

Administration has requested that one member of the faculty senate serve on each of the college-wide committees. The following committees will be represented by the named senators:

- C & I Committee: Bob Satterwhite
- Institutional Effectiveness Committee: Chris Cox
- President's Council: Kurt Berger
- Retention Committee: Sarah Altman
- Safety Committee: Connie Gregory
- Advising Committee: Linda Talbott
- Foundation-Annual Drive Committee: Meg Rollins
- Commencement Committee: Wilda Walker
- Distance Learning Committee: Doug Ward
- Global Education Committee: Lisa Shearer

5. Diversion of Funds

In the past, the college has diverted faculty salary dollars to be used for the purchase of equipment and other purposes. After discussion, members felt they would like to know how much money and for what purposes the money is diverted. In addition, faculty would like to know how the percentage of diverted dollars compares to that of other colleges in the state. Owen Gibby made a motion and Ron Poor seconded for Faculty Senate to ask administration to disclose this information. The motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Talbott Secretary