## Southwestern Community College Faculty Senate Minutes August 10, 2011

Present: Vance Waggener, Susan Cain, Matt Cass, Ashley Cunningham, Kelly Burch, Diania McRae, Ron Poor, Debbie Ray, Randy McCall, Barbara Connell, Diane English, Delia Fredrick, Penny Wells, Meg Petty, Mitch Fischer, Mary Bradley, Toni Knott, Elizabeth Haynes, Tony Belcher, William Brothers

President Elizabeth Haynes called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm and began by introducing the 2011-2012 faculty senate officers. Officers are listed as follows:

- Elizabeth Haynes President
- Tony Belcher Vice-President
- William Brothers Secretary

President Haynes then recognized the members of executive council. In addition to the faculty senate officers, the following will serve on the executive council:

- Mitch Fischer representing Health Sciences
- Toni Knott representing Arts and Sciences
- Randy McCall representing Career Technologies

Upon recognition of executive officers, each member of faculty senate was introduced.

- Arts & Sciences
  - Mary Bradley
  - Susan Cain
  - Matt Cass
  - o Toni Knott
  - Vance Waggener
- Career Technologies
  - Kelly Burch
  - Ashley Cunningham
  - o Diania McRae
  - o Ron Poor
  - Debbie Ray
- Health Sciences
  - o Barbara Connell
  - Diane English
  - o Delia Fredrick
  - Meg Petty
  - o Penny Wells

At this point, President Haynes asked for nominations of faculty senators to serve on various committees. The following is a listing of the senators who have chosen to serve on committees:

- Advising Diane English
- Community Service Debbie Ray
- Critical Incident Response Ashley Cunningham
- Curriculum and Instruction Matt Cass
- Health and Safety Barbara Connell
- Institutional effectiveness Mitch Fischer
- Jackson County Early College Steering Vance Waggener
- Presidents Council Elizabeth Haynes
- Professional Development Mary Bradley
- Wellness Susan Cain
- Writing Across the Curriculum Diania McRae
- Student Life Penny Wells
- Commencement Meg Petty

A motion was made by Secretary Brothers to approve the senators to these committees. The motion was seconded by Senator McRae and unanimously approved.

Vice-President Belcher then asked for senators willing to serve on the Faculty Senate Constitution and By-Laws Committee. Mitch Fischer and Barbara Connell volunteered to serve on said committee for 2011-2012. A motion was made by Senator McRae to elect these faculty to the Faculty Senate Constitution and By-Laws Committee. The motion was seconded by Senator Cunningham and unanimously approved.

President Haynes then discussed the possible dates of future faculty senate meetings. After listening to and recording faculty feedback, it was determined that Executive Council will consider the recommendations of senators and finalize the dates at a later time.

President Haynes then discussed the forthcoming welcome reception for Dr. Tomas. President Haynes stated that she will confirm with Dr. Tomas when a good meeting date and time will be and the date will be finalized at this time.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

William Brothers
Faculty Senate Secretary