# Faculty Senate Minutes August 12, 2009

<u>Faculty Present</u>: Bob Holt, Randy McCall, Ron Poor, Michael Deaver, Wilda Walker, Barb Connell, Tony Belcher, Dianne English, Linda Aiken, Mitch Fischer, Elizabeth Haynes, Diania McRae, Wanda Morris, Sheri Turk, Kurt Berger, Debbie Ray, Connie Gregory, Allan Grant, Toni Knott

## **Faculty Senate Officers:**

President: Bob Holt
Vice President: Ron Poor
Secretary: Randy McCall

## **Division Senators:**

Arts and Sciences: Allan Grant, Matt Cass, Mary Bradley

Health Sciences: Barb Connell, Tony Belcher, Dianne English, Mitch Fischer

Career Technologies: Wilda Walker, Linda Aiken, Elizabeth Haynes, Wanda Morris, Connie

Gregory

#### Call to order:

President Bob Holt called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm and opened the meeting by thanking the officers and senators from the previous academic year for their service. Also welcomed new senators and interested faculty in attendance.

## **Committee Appointments**

The following people were appointed to represent the Faculty Senate on committees.

Health and Safety: Ron Poor Technology: Michael Deaver Commencement: Tony Belcher Wellness: Dianne English Advising: Linda Aiken C&I: Wilda Walker

Institutional Effectiveness: Mitch Fischer Marketing: Wanda Morris
Pres. Council: Barb Connell Prof. Dev.: Elizabeth Haynes

## **Faculty Senate Objectives:**

There was a lengthy discussion about what the faculty senate would like to achieve this academic year. After several ideas, a motion was heard to form a committee to determine possible avenues to increase attendance and sense of purpose for the faculty senate. A second was given and passed by vote of the senate. Committee will be:

Chair- Wilda Walker Vice Chair- Linda Aiken Members: Kurt Berger, Tony Belcher, Barb Connell

Meeting was adjourned at 3:55 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Randy McCall Faculty Senate Secretary