Faculty Senate Minutes August 13, 2008

Faculty present: Ron Poor, Randy McCall, Wanda Morris, Cindy Amster, Mitch Fischer, Matt Cass, Tony Belcher, Barbara Connell, Connie Gregory, Debbie Ray, Dianne English, Elizabeth Haynes, Michael Deaver, Toni Knott, Wilda Walker, John Matchulat, Allan Grant, Kurt Berger, and Diana McRae

Faculty senators for each division:

Health Sciences: Mitch Fischer, Tony Belcher, Barbara Connell, Dianne English **Career Technologies:** Wanda Morris, Connie Gregory, Elizabeth Haynes, Wilda Walker **Arts and Sciences:** Matt Cass, Allan Grant, and Mary Bradley

The first faculty senate meeting of the academic year 2008-09 was called to order by acting President Ron Poor at 3:00pm.

Committee Appointments

The first order of business was the appointment of faculty senate representatives to college committees. Appointments are as follows:

Curriculum and Instruction:	Wilda Walker
Marketing:	Wanda Morris
Ethnic and Gender Diversity:	Toni Knott
Health and Safety:	Debbie Ray
Wellness:	Michael Deaver
Commencement:	Tony Belcher
Advising:	Matt Cass
Institutional Effectiveness:	Mitch Fischer
President's Council:	Barbara Connell
Professional Development:	Elizabeth Haynes
Retention:	Ron Poor
Technology:	Wanda Morris

A motion and second were heard to accept the above appointments. The motion carried with none opposing.

II. Election of President

Due to the death of Doug Ward, a special election is needed to fill this vacancy. A motion was made, seconded, and passed unanimously to proceed with a special election for the presidency. Pursuant to the constitution, the division from which the new president comes will relinquish one senate seat.

Election Procedures:

Nominations should be sent to me by noon, Wednesday, August 20, 2008. No nominations will be accepted after this deadline

Ballots will be sent to the faculty via office mail on Friday, August 22, 2008, and must be returned to me by Thursday, August 28, 2008. Ballots received after the deadline will not be counted.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Randy McCall Faculty Senate Secretary